The City of Lockport has a strong-mayoral form of government. Most major American cities use the strong-mayoral form of government. This means the mayor of the City of Lockport has clear administrative authority over municipal government (day-to-day operations). Additionally, under this system, the mayor prepares and administers the city budget, directs departments and department heads, reviews and appoints personnel, and sets city policy in many regards.

The mayor also presides over the city’s Board of Estimate & Apportionment, which carries out the mayor’s budget. In the City of Lockport, the mayor’s proposed budget must be approved by the Common Council.

In the City of Lockport, the Common Council is the main elected body. There are six elected members of the Common Council, five elected from each ward of the city and an alderman-at-large. The council considers legislation, must approve the city budget and makes local laws and rules.

Regular meetings of the Common Council are held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Common Council chambers at City Hall. Work sessions are held weekly at 4:30 p.m. Wednesdays.

View the 2020 City of Lockport Organizational Chart here.

Mayor Michelle Roman

City of Lockport Office of the Mayor
Lockport Municipal Building
One Locks Plaza
Lockport, New York 14094
City Hall Main Line: 716.439.6676
Phone: 716.439.6665
Email Mayor Michelle Roman

Government Officers

Michelle M. Roman

Common Council President
Paul M. Beakman, Jr.

1st Ward
Paul M. Beakman, Jr.

2nd Ward
Luke D. Kantor

3rd Ward
Mark S. Devine

4th Ward
Kathryn ‘Kitty’ Fogle

5th Ward
Margaret Lupo

Alderman at Large
Lisa Swanson-Gellerson

Corporation Counsel

Laura Miskell Benedict

1st Deputy Corp. Counsel
Jason Cafarella

2nd Deputy Corp. Counsel

Patricia McGrath

Common Council Committees

Alderman Beakman, Chairman


Alderman Beakman, Chairman

Water & Sewer

Alderman Devine, Chairman


Alderman Kantor, Chairman

Police Board (Council representative)
Alderman Devine

Fire Board (Council representative)
Alderman Fogle